.

Donna Finney's failure to disclose violation of R.C. 3517.21 False Statements

Donna Finney False Statements Admission
Donna Finney False Statements Admission

Now I know why all the Councilwoman Finney supporters have disappeared and Councilwoman Finney failed to respond to the post asking her to respond on the August 24, 2006 CASE NO. 2005E-084. There is a story here but one that Councilwoman Finney would like to keep buried and undisclosed - more embarrassment for the City of Mayfield Heights.  I personally called the Ohio Ethics Commission and requested these documents – they are public record.  Apparently, Donna Finney is not going to disclose them publically nor is she going to talk about this. Among other things, the most shocking part is her “mutual agreement” with former Mayor Gregory Costabile in this Agreement before the Ohio Ethics Commission.

On July 24, 2006 Donna Finney signed a binding Agreement, under oath, ADMITTING that she VIOLATED Ohio Revised Code 3517.21(B)(8) and (10) TITLED "...FALSE STATEMENTS IN CAMPAIGN MATERIALS - ELECTION OF CANDIDATE."  She did this at a hearing before the Ohio Ethics Commission in Columbus.  The VIOLATIONS Donna Finney admitted relate to her circulating campaign literature for Howard Sonenstein which was a FALSE STATEMENT AND DONNA EITHER KNEW IT WAS FALSE OR HAD RECKLESS DISREGARD OF WHETHER IT WAS FALSE - according to the statute.

Think about this.  We just had a Mayor resign over ethics charges last February and pled guilty to charges causing serious public embarrassment to the City of Mayfield Heights. Why would Donna Finney run for Mayor with this serious stain of admitting False Statements on her record and she will be representing the City in the highest office?!? These statements, by the way, involve our former Mayor that resigned and which she worked out an "Agreement" with to avoid charges (an agreement with our former Mayor she claims she would never behave like to violate the public trust).  Why would anyone in our city want a person with such a reputation and history? 

After all isn't our future Mayor going to need solid character and trust for developing business and rebuilding the reputation of our wonderful city?  I was shocked when I recently learned about this last week and just received this information directly from the Board of Elections today.  I am posting it all in a PowerPoint on YouTube because it is so serious and the public has a right to know the real truth that Councilwoman Finney tried to hide from the voters of Mayfield Heights.

Shame on you Councilwoman Finney for repeatedly "claiming" you want transparency in our City Government. You failed to disclose this important information to us, the voters.  You pandered to the Republican Party to seek its endorsement in this Campaign and you received it.  Does the Republican Party know about your transgression and did you disclose it to the Republican Party? 

I ask you to seriously consider withdrawing from this Mayoral Election.  I suspect these facts and this story will sadly cause more embarrassment for our city before this election even takes place.


http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRO79AixPKzBU6bAOfDm0kA
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 08:35 AM
Attorney Mark Baron, It does not surprise me that you being an attorney would make posts distorting the facts. First, I have never buried my past. Second, while I was reprimanded in 2006 for my literature, it was simply for not revealing the source of who provided the information, as any good person would do to protect their supporters. Third, as all the residents are aware, the end result confirmed that all of the information in my literature was true, leading to Former Mayor Costabile pleading in Franklin County Court, because he was too embarrassed to be in Cuyahoga County Court. What surprises me most is that you, as an attorney, are supporting my opponents who defended the Former Mayor all along, even after his resignation, given the fact that they did not want the City Law Director to give an explanation of what happened with Costabile, which is available to watch on our City Website. I am currently working with a computer person to link the embarrassing videotaped deposition of Mayor Costabile to this site. This will be made available for all residents to view. Furthermore, my opponent signed an avadavat stating former Mayor Costabile was right in his wrong doings, once again, public record. Being that my opponents are Costabile’s long time friends, they felt it necessary to protect the former Mayor even after his conviction and causing major embarrassment to the city of Mayfield Heights. As an attorney, I think you should check the facts before making statements. Donna R. Finney 216-780-5762
Tony October 23, 2013 at 10:27 AM
Mr. Baron. Is this a joke? I do not know you personally, but I've seen your name on councilwoman Diane Snider literature. So the city understands you are not for Finney or diccio. If you remember the piece of literature it was stating all the facts of what our former mayor did wrong. Councilwoman Finney brought it out, and if she would of never done so, he would still be our mayor! Thank you for reminding me that Finney WAS the only person to try and protect our city even when the whole city did not see proof. Shortly later, the truth of him came out. This shows that she will stand up for our city and what is right.
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 11:06 AM
Attorney Mark Baran, I am currently working on posting the videos of the Costabile deposition. I have also posted below two links. The first link is from the City of Mayfield Heights website for the video of the City Council Meeting dated February 11, 2013. If you start watching at minute 19, you will see the law director's report concerning Costabile's resignation and my opponent disagreeing with the fact that the residents should be informed about his unethical behavior resulting in his resignation. The second link is to the actual meeting minutes for the same City Council Meeting. You and the residents can read the applicable portion of the meeting by starting at page 2 where is states "Director of Law Carr..." I also encourage both you and the residents to watch and read the full video and meeting minutes from this and any other City Council Meeting. http://www.mayfieldheights.org/index.php/city-government/city-council/council-video/2013/202-2013 http://www.mayfieldheights.org/index.php/city-government/city-council/council-minutes/2013 Thank you, Donna R. Finney (216) 780-5762
Mark Baran October 23, 2013 at 11:06 AM
Councilwoman Finney - Are you now saying that the statements you made were not "False Statements" and that your "Admission of a False Statement" in the Agreement you signed on July 24, 2006 is not correct? I am confused. In the "Agreement" you signed you Admitted to violating O.R.C. 3517.21(B)(8) and (10). I am only stating what is factually listed in the Agreement. I don't ever remember seeing that you disclosed this to the public - am I wrong? Did you tell fellow member of City Council about this or the public during a City Council meeting? This is no joke and the public records speak for themselves and they are available on-line and to the voting public. Anytime a public official admits to a crime of dishonesty, it should be disclosed to the public, in my opinion. Maybe you disagree. As you also went to Columbus, you may also remember this was a hearing and a court reporter transcribed everything that was said at that hearing. Are you willing to provide a copy of the transcript of the hearing and provide it to the public? I encourage all facts that relate to a Public Official admitting to a False Statement being disclosed. I am surprised you seem offended by this in your post as you have repeatedly stated in public that you believe in full disclosure. I hope that you still believe in full disclosure and also hope that you agree that this is important to the voting public. This has nothing to do with my opinion of who I believe should be Mayor. This is about the public trust in public officials. I am glad to see that you are at least willing to discuss it further. Please clarify. Also, is this deposition you are talking about public record? I would not want to see you get in more legal trouble as you must be careful that you are posting items that are "public record."
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 11:11 AM
Due to formatting of this website, please copy and paste the links provided above into your web browser to view them. Sorry for the inconvenience. Donna R. Finney (216) 780-5762
Mark Baran October 23, 2013 at 11:21 AM
Councilwoman Finney, also you are one of the people with "all the facts" surrounding the "Agreement" you signed on July 24, 2006. Please tell us all those facts. In the Agreement at Paragraph (10) there is a paragraph which states " This Agreement embodies the entire agreement There are no promises, terms, conditions, or obligations between the parties regarding the subject matter of this Agreement other than those contained in this Agreement and the Attachments. This Agreement supersedes all previous communications, representation or agreements, eithe rverbal or written, between the parties. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, no letter, telegram, or other communication passing between the parties, concerning any matter during the negotiation of this Agreement, is a part of this Agreement, nor does it have the effect of modifying or adding to this Agreement." The Agreement is a "negotiation" between yourself and the former Mayor Greg Costabile? That is what the Agreement states that you signed. Can you tell us about those negotiations you had with the former Mayor Costabile that led up to this "Agreement?" Are you willing to produce all the "communications" and "letters" exchanged with former Mayor Costabile that led to this Agreement? Paragraph (10) indicates there is more to this negotiation. Can you please tell us more about the negotiation with Mayor Costabile? The dates of the Agreement and the date of the Hearing with the Commission indicate that you negotiated this Agreement BEFORE the hearing and presented this Agreement to the Commission after it was all worked out with the former Mayor Costabile. Is this correct?
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 11:30 AM
Mr. Baran, I am not offended at all by the disclosure as you posted it. As I stated previously, I was refusing to reveal the sources of which my information came from, that is the simple answer. As I noted, everything that was said was true and led to Costabile's resignation. Furthermore, my opponent has tried to block the recent legislation changes that I have proposed in reference to the Mayor and Council regarding transparency in our local government. In reference to posting the embarrassing deposition of former Mayor Costabile, I am within my rights and will be doing that, because I paid for it and own it. This will be able to be viewed shortly. Finally, the information you are referring to was made public many, many years ago.
Mark Baran October 23, 2013 at 11:47 AM
Hold on a second. Are you NOW stating that what you said in the agreement is False? Are you saying what you signed, in the presence of the Ohio Ethics Commission is False?
Mark Baran October 23, 2013 at 11:47 AM
Is that a False Statement too?!?
Mark Baran October 23, 2013 at 11:50 AM
Also, why do you keep trying to change the topic and proceed with other attacks of you opponents? Do you wish to avoid taking about this any further? It seems that you are ashamed and want to redirect the discussion away from this matter. Am I wrong?
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 01:29 PM
Mr. Baran, Please let me explain myself one last time, since you seem to have difficulty understanding English. I signed the agreement to maintain the anonymity of the residents that brought the information forward, to me, about the wrong doings of the disgraced EX-Mayor Costabile. My opponents continued to stand by his side, as you can see from the minutes posted, even after his resignation and guilty plea. I think you, as an attorney, should be able to understand this. Please feel free to call me with questions, I am always available to answer any questions. Donna R. Finney 216-780-5762
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 01:31 PM
CITY OF MAYFIELD HEIGHTS COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES February 11, 2013 The regular meeting of Council was called to order at 7:30 P.M. by Council President Pro Tempore Diane Snider. Director of Law Carr: No report. Mrs. Finney asked in lieu of Mrs. Snider statement earlier, if the Law Director was ready to give a statement about the situation with the former Mayor. Mr. Carr said he was and it was strictly a factual statement and not a matter of personal attacks. But he would like to go by the Council President Pro Tempore’s directive. Mrs. Finney stated several current and past council members and residents have asked for a statement about what happened and there is a lot of speculation. She thinks the facts need to be on the table to the City can moved forward. Mr. Carr said there was a conflict amongst the council members as to whether he should speak or not. He needs direction as to what way to go. He has also receives calls about this matter. Mrs. Finney stated that if an explanation is not given to the residents and it makes it look like Council has done something wrong or that they are hiding something. There are a lot of people who do not understand what happened and she thinks the City owes it to them to get the facts out and put the situation behind them so that the City can move forward. Mrs. Snider commented that she spoke with council members and a few are concerned with having Mr. Carr speak this evening and that the answers have been given. She also spoke with the prosecutor’s office who said everything was public record and the case was closed. They have been dealing with this for two years and would meet with anyone who wanted to do so. Mr. Carr has offered to have a written statement ready at the end of the week. This can be distributed to anyone who wants one. She believes the City needs to move on. Mrs. Finney responded that a statement needs to be made tonight as a lot of people are expecting it. Mrs. Snider then asked everyone how they wanted to proceed this evening. Mr. Sciria asked to hear it. Mr. Mercurio thought it should be a written statement. Mrs. Teresi said that she was not on Council at the time so it was difficult for her to answer people. She felt that Mrs. Finney should be able to tell anyone what happened since she was a council member during the whole process. 1She thought that a statement from Mr. Carr would be a good idea so then everyone would know what happened. Mr. Monaco thinks the residents should know the facts about the situation and not from a newspaper or television report. He emailed the Law Director that the City needs to be transparent and the facts need to be known so residents can come to their own conclusion. Mrs. Snider reiterated that she is very much against this; that it has been advertised enough and that there will not be much different information stated. Mr. Monaco commented that the facts should come from either the prosecutor or the Law Director, as one cannot believe everything stated in a newspaper. Mrs. Snider asked Mr. Carr to proceed. (Continued on Next Post)
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 01:33 PM
Mr. Carr stated he had not prepared a written statement per se. He is prepared based on his knowledge of what has occurred and his notes. He has received calls and emails asking him to speak, but it is not his job to do so, it is Council’s and the Mayor’s wishes that he follows. One question that was raised was what might council members have done wrong in this whole scenario. There were no facts or evidence that came to light that any council persons, present or former, was involved in any transactions that would mean any wrong doing. Nothing he says is a breach of confidence as he represents the people of the City. He does not represent the Mayor or Council; he represents the interest of the City of Mayfield Heights. Early in the process he was subpoenaed for records pertaining to Seagull Oil and Gas Company for drilling on public and private lands by the Cuyahoga County Prosecutor and the Ohio Ethics Commission. This involved records from his office and from other City offices. The beginning of this occurrence was when Mrs. Finney inquired of Mayor Gregory Costabile what amount he had received for the lease of his land on Ridgebury Blvd. for a gas well through Seagull. He refused to comply. Mr. Carr advised the Mayor to reveal the amount as the situation would not go away. Mayor Costabile declined to do so. Mr. Carr defended the Mayor citing that there were not enough facts of any wrong doing. Mayor Costabile cited that this was a private matter and between him and Seagull and that he had a confidentiality agreement with Seagull that precluded him or Seagull from disclosing any details. Mr. Carr told him that this was not a private matter as he was a public official and this was a company that had done business and was seeking to do business in the City. This was a critical fact. Council determined that this needed to be further researched by someone other than Mr. Carr as he was too close to the Mayor and they wanted objectivity. Mr. Carr gave Council President Ballistrea a list of several attorneys. Council appropriated up to $15,000 for attorney fees and hired an independent counsel. Mr. Michael Merman was the first lawyer hired. After hearing from Council members, he determined that the Mayor did not have the right to conceal the details of the transaction as he was a public figure and the company was and did want to do business in Mayfield Heights. Mr. Merman also indicated that he did want to be part of a removal process of the Mayor. He found it distasteful and did not want to get involved. He did suggest legislation be prepared regarding anyone doing business with the City would have to advise of current or prior dealings with any city officials. Mr. Carr prepared this legislation and gave it to the Mayor to review. The Mayor cut out most of the substantial language so when Mr. Ballistrea who was Council President at the time received it, it meant nothing. The legislation never went through. (Continued on Next Post)
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 01:34 PM
During the time of the two year investigation, Mr. Carr was asked to attend a meeting with the Mayor, Seagull and its lawyers. Seagull was involved in an investigation of alleged forgery regarding leases for Stone Creek properties. The investigation had stalled and Seagull wanted to move forward with their project in Stone Creek. Mr. Carr’s recommendation to the Mayor was that until the investigation was complete and it was determined who was responsible for the forgeries, Seagull should not solicit and do business in the City. There was a lot of discussion and at one point Mr. Carr saw an opportunity to help the residents and give the Mayor a feather in his cap, and suggested that perhaps something could be worked out if Seagull would walk away from the Catalano Drive project that the residents were very upset about. They agreed that they could do that, but then Mayor Costabile told them they did not have to do so. Mr. Carr then told Seagull that they could resign with the people in Stone Creek that they already had a business relationship with, but not calling on any new people, if they would walk away from the Catalano Drive project. Again they said they would, and again the Mayor said they did not have to. The meeting ended with nothing being resolved. In the course of the investigation it came out that Mayor Costabile received $15,000 for his property for a non-drilling lease while most of his neighbors only received $5000 for the same type of lease. The properties that had the actual well drilled on it, received more compensation. Don Barr, the developer of Hidden Woods, received $50,000 for eight acres of property that were key to the gas well project as 20 aggregate acres are needed in order for a gas well to be drilled. That comes out to approximately $6300 per acre. Mr. Carr learned of this after the meeting where he had asked Seagull to stand down from the Catalano Drive project. It further was revealed that Seagull had not required a confidentiality agreement with Mayor Costabile; he was the party that wanted it and drafted it. Seagull also wanted to drill near the city park on the northern border by Marshall Ford. So another meeting was held and Mr. Carr had Detective Chris Sonnhalter attend as he was in charge of the investigation. They wanted to know why it was stalled. It had been determined that the signatures were indeed forgeries, but it could not be determined who did it, so there was a standstill. Mr. Carr suggested that the Seagull people take polygraph tests and they agreed if the homeowners would do so. Mr. Carr said he did not control the homeowners, but that they could move forward if they took the test, but they refused. Also during this meeting, Mr. Carr brought up the fact that there was controversy about the agreement that they had signed with the Mayor for his Ridgebury property and they would help him if they released him from that confidentiality agreement. They were willing to reveal what the Mayor received, but their lawyer said he would not want to compromise the Mayor’s position. All these little things started raising red flags. During the course of the investigation, several council members wanted answers and had spoken with various attorneys and prosecutors who told them that the Mayor was obligated to reveal the information. Mayor Costabile was attempting to speak with individual council members. At one point, Mr. Carr was told that he met with Diane Snider and Ron Kobunski, both council members at the time, and asked them to sign an affidavit that he had done nothing illegal, which they refused to do. (Continued on Next Post)
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 01:35 PM
Again, during this two year period, the Seagull people wanted to drill for a well on the northern side of the main City park near Marshall Ford property. Mr. Carr was under the impression that the actual well would be drilled on the Marshall Ford property, not the City property, but it would have required Council’s approval to also lease to Seagull adjacent city property. Mr. Deming from Seagull wanted to move forward and had told Mike Ballistrea that the investigation was over. Mr. Ballistrea found out that the investigation was not completed from the Detective Bureau. Upon further inquiry, Mr. Elk from Marshall Ford stated he did not want the well on his property, although he would be willing to be part of the aggregation of property. Mayor Costabile wanted a Committee of the Whole meeting to discuss this proposal, but Council President Ballistrea would not move forward until the investigation of Seagull was completed. Therefore, he did not schedule a Committee of the Whole meeting. It was clear that the Mayor was advocating for Seagull to have a well in the park. During the investigation, Mayor Costabile continued to refuse to provide information and denied any wrong doing and stated that the Ohio Ethics Commission told him his Financial Disclosure Forms were filled out properly. Rarely does the Ohio Ethics Commission give a verbal opinion and they had no notes on this matter, which is unusual. The attorney investigated advised that there was no way anyone in their office would have advised Mayor Costabile that he was filling out the forms properly. The language is clear that they want to know the sources of income. An amount does not need to be disclosed unless the source of income is seeking to do business or is doing business with the City. The transaction with Seagull fell within that purview. While his forms revealed the source, it did not reveal how much. (Continued on Next Post)
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 01:37 PM
The Financial Disclosure Forms led to the second charge which was the failure to disclose the source and the income of $100,000 from the Hidden Woods development. The City’s Master Plan was updated and the committee was headed by then Council President Costabile. The property behind the north side of the Ridgebury properties was then zoned for higher acreage development. The Master Plan allowed for lesser acreage zoning and that zoning was eventually adopted to allow for the Hidden Woods development. The Costabiles purchased property on Ridgebury Blvd. around the same time and then sold the back acre to the Hidden Woods Development for $100,000. At the time there was an altercation between what the former owners said she had been told would not be happening with the property behind her property. However, all of the people who sold their property received this amount for an acre. It was the Mayor’s failure to disclose any of this that brought the second charge. It was these two charges that Mayor Costabile plead guilty to. Mr. Carr also pointed out that the Mayor’s acre and the one east of his were acres 21 and 22 of the gas well drilling project on Ridgebury Blvd. and according to the Ohio Dept. of Natural Resources, were not needed for this project. That raised the question as to why those two properties were included in the project. (Continued on Next Post)
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 01:40 PM
Mr. Sciria commented that Mr. Carr spoke about two charges that Mayor Costabile plead guilty to in Columbus. Were there any other allegations that were part of the plea bargain? Mr. Carr replied that the prosecutor said they would not indict him on any felonies, if he resigned. The felonies were for tampering with evidence, which Mr. Carr does not know for a fact but believes it may have been for the forms that he filled out. Other allegations of a more serious nature, he believes would have been hard to prove, as there was no direct evidence. Mr. Sciria asked if there were any fines as part of the plea deal. Mr. Carr said Mayor Costabile agreed to a total of $22,000 in fines, $15,000 to be paid to the Ohio Ethics Commission, $6000 to be paid to the Cuyahoga County Prosecutor’s Office to defray some of the costs of the investigation and two $500 fines that the court imposed. He was sentenced to 180 days in jail that was suspended pending his compliance with all the other conditions. He has probation for one year or less if he pays off the fines before that time. Mr. Sciria asked that if Mayor Costabile had not pleaded guilty, would they have gone forward with the other felony charges. Mr. Carr said he could not answer that, it would be speculative. As was explained the Prosecutor’s office said they would not indict him if he took this plea deal. Mr. Sciria clarified that plea bargaining is done so that the matter does not go forward. Mr. Carr said that was not necessarily true. It depends on the circumstances. Mrs. Finney thanked Mr. Carr. She asked if Greg Costabile could run for any public office. Mr. Carr stated he believes legally that Mr. Costabile could. Mrs. Finney stated she heard that Mr. Costabile had to make restitution to the family that owned the Ridgebury Blvd. property that he purchased from. Mr. Carr stated that as far as he knows, that is totally untrue. (See minutes of the 2-11-13 City Council meeting)
Mark Baran October 23, 2013 at 01:59 PM
NO. I still do not understand you explanation and it makes no sense. (Insulting or bullying me will not get me to stop asking this relevant questions). Are you saying you Falsely admitted to the Ohio Ethics Commission that you made a "False Statement" solely to protect the identity of others? Why would you admit something that is not true when it is a "crime of dishonesty?" Now you are telling us (the public) that the Agreement was a lie? I don't need to call you and I suspect I am not the only one confused by your explanation. If you explanation made sense and is simple to explain, you should do so in this public forum. But, you explanation still fails to make any sense and you have not stated that you will provide all other documents concerning this matter. WILL YOU PROVIDE THE CORRESPONDENCE AND DOCUMENTS YOU EXCHANGED WITH MAYOR COSTABILE THAT LED TO THE "AGREEMENT" DATED JULY 24, 2006? HOW ABOUT YOU PROVIDE ALL THOSE RECORDS TO A THIRD PARTY SUCH AS A REPORTER FROM THE PLAIN DEALER? In my opinion, you keep attempting to pivot and redirect this discussion? Why? I seriously have to question you truthfulness.
Mark Baran October 23, 2013 at 02:11 PM
I still don't see from the minutes how you can claim you opponents continued to stand by the Former Mayor after his guilty plea. I read that council wanted to move forward and were all rightfully embarrassed by what Mayor Costabile wanted to let the public documents speak for themselves. Maybye I am wrong. But, I see you making inferences and trying to redirect the discussion with inflammatory attacks on your opponents when the topic is your transgression back in 2006. Perhaps you have a guilty conscience? Perhaps you don't want to disclose all the details concerning your agreement with Mayor Costibile which you fashioned BEFORE he was found Guilty? I still maintain that it appears to me that you are not being cooperative in fully disclosing the circumstances of July 24, 2006 and EVERYTHING, ALL DOCUMENTS AND DISCUSSIONS, that led to that AGREEMENT. Help me understand why I am wrong in believing this. Will you agree to produce all documents on your own 2006 matter??
Donna R.Finney October 23, 2013 at 03:20 PM
Mr. Baran, No bullying or insulting intended. Apparently, you and my opponents are the bullies by continuing to not be able to read the minutes and understand what the minutes clearly state, I believe the minutes speak for themselves.... Have a great day!!
Mark Baran October 29, 2013 at 09:25 PM
A link to the Official Transcript to Proceedings before the Ohio Election Commission. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EuXMvRbyHs Yes, there was an official proceeding in which the Commission was asked to "accept" a stipulated Agreement between Donna Finney and Greg Costiblie. A condition of the agreement was Pargraph 5, that Donna Finney would not face "....referral for criminal prosecution and should be no reprimand for those finding." Attorney Brey, Donna Finney's attorney, at P. 6, Lines 6-12. Read the entire transcript and make up your own mind.
brian November 05, 2013 at 09:48 AM
Finney, you are a bully. You have been for years. If you would actually quit finger pointing and trash talking, maybe you could be a nicer candidate.
brian November 05, 2013 at 09:54 AM
Oh, never mind.. now as I read all your posts.... it's impossible for you to be nice. If the ex mayor ran again.. I'd bet he'd win.
brian November 05, 2013 at 10:56 AM
Mark Baran.... just delete Ms. Finney's comments. She deletes all comments from her blogs so nobody can read them...
Lindell V.Riddle November 05, 2013 at 05:13 PM
There is no person in Mayfield Heights City Government more completely open and in favor of full disclosure than Donna Finney, she has NOTHING to hide and she has hidden nothing! You guys need to calm down, especially anyone using a partial or assumed name. To those reading this, the "Mark Baran" person is a lawyer with a personal agenda and an axe to grind, he is angling for a job with the city. And let me tell you, I am the person who did the research that led to the discredited former mayor having to leave office, I have dug up the dirt on public officials and made it public in the past My family and I back Donna Finney, she will be a full-time mayor, she will cut the cost of city government. Donna Finney put legislation forward to require every elected official to file their Ethics Commission requirements with the Clerk of Council so all the state reporting requirements will be readily available right at Mayfield Heights City Hall. The other two candidates for mayor have tried to block this from passage. If you REALLY care about OPEN GOVERNMENT you will join me in backing DONNA FINNEY FOR MAYFIELD HEIGHTS MAYOR!!! My friends, I have been a Mayfield Heights Community Activist for 43 years and I have done my homework. Yours truly, Lindell V. Riddle
MG November 05, 2013 at 08:44 PM
Lindell V. Riddle.... talk about ax to grind... Finney has been throwing around the ex-mayor story forever and every chance she gets. Love how you all like to title people "lawyer", or assumed name. What difference does it make? We wouldn't respond if we weren't residents, and I know Finney only classifies the residents are "registered voters", while she furiously looks up anyone who posts here. Pretty weak.
Common Sense Citizen November 06, 2013 at 07:06 AM
If only Finney would put as much energy into accomplishing something constructive as she does in skewering other people, she might have some credibility. And just because someone has plenty of idle time doesn't make them a better candidate for a part-time position. I guess she's never heard the saying that if you want something done, ask a busy person.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something